About The Red Cap Writer

Apart from growing up with the trademark of auburn hair, it was the concept behind the Redcap that truly drove me to choose the character as inspiration for my blog title.  Wikipedia describes the creature as…

'Murderous Redcap' posted on DeviantArt by MTG Online

'Murderous Redcap' posted on DeviantArt by MTG Online

“…a type of imaginary malevolent murderous dwarf, goblin, elf or fairy found in Border Folklore. They are said to inhabit ruined castles found along the border between England and Scotland. Redcaps are said to murder travelers who stray into their homes and dye their hats with their victims’ blood (from which they get their name). Redcaps must kill regularly, for if the blood staining their hats dries out, they die. Redcaps are very fast in spite of the heavy iron pikes they wield and the iron-shod boots they wear. Outrunning a redcap is supposedly impossible; the only way to escape one is to quote a passage from the Bible.  They lose a tooth on hearing it, which they leave behind. They are depicted as sturdy old men with red eyes, taloned hands and large teeth, wearing a red cap and bearing a pikestaff in the left hand.”

An artist's interpretation of a redcap

An artist's interpretation of a redcap

Now, when I e-mailed the article to my sister as a suggestion of a blog title, she wrote one sentence back to me; “That is so ‘Robbie'”.

It’s not that I’m a murderous goblin by any means. Everyone who knows me would say the complete opposite actually – I tend to be a bright, fun, optimistic guy in person. But, it’s true that I’m drawn to artistically dark and creatively twisted pieces of art; whether it be a painting, a book, a movie, etc.. Nightmare before christmas was, and still is, a favorite movie of mine.

I also like flowers, puppy dogs, and potpourri. So, don’t be scared.

Awwwww, the wittle wedcap has a wose on his hat!

Awwwww, the wittle wedcap has a wose on his hat!

As far as the goal of this blog, I really don’t have anything set in stone yet. I am writing a book – that also is pretty dark and quirky in nature – and hopefully I’ll use this as a way to write through my ideas or share excerpts. I also would like to keep my writing skills warm by regularly finding inspirational photos/pieces of art to create stories around.

I know this is the umpteen-billionth blog that I’ve created. It might come and go like my other ones have in the past, but it might also stick. Who knows. Only time will tell.

Until then, I will appreciate your feedback and comments. Just try to maintain a respectful approach. Thank you for reading.

-Robbie

~ by Robbie on July 23, 2009.

Leave a comment